The MapBiomas is an initiative of the Greenhouse Gas Emissions Estimation System (SEEG) from the Climate Observatory's and is produced by a collaborative network of co-creators made up of NGOs, universities and technology companies organized by biomes and cross-cutting themes.


  • Amazon – Institute of People and Environment of the Amazon (IMAZON)
  • Caatinga – Feira de Santana State University (UEFS), Northeast Plants Association (APNE) e GeoDatin
  • Cerrado – Amazon Environmental Research Institute (IPAM)
  • Atlantic Forest – SOS Mata Atlantica Foundation and ArcPlan
  • Pampa – Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul (UFRGS) and GeoKarten
  • Pantanal – SOS Pantanal Institute and ArcPlan


  • Pasture – Federal University of Goiás (LAPIG/UFG)
  • Agriculture – Agrosatelite
  • Coastal Zone and Mining – Vale Technological Institute (ITV) / Solved
  • Urban Areas– University of São Paulo (QUAPÁ-FAU/ USP and YBY), Federal University of Bahia and Federal University of São Carlos (NEEPC) 


  • Google
  • EcoStage
  • Terras App Solutions


List of funding organizations that have provided support to the MapBiomas Project in one or more years since 2015.

  • Children’s Investment Fund Foundation (CIFF)
  • Climate and Land Use Alliance (CLUA)
  • Amazon Fund [+info]
  • Global Wildlife Conservation (GWC)
  • Good Energies Foundation
  • Gordon & Betty Moore Foundation
  • Norway's International Climate and Forest Initiative (NICFI)
  • Arapyaú Institute
  • Institute for Climate and Society (ICS)
  • Humanize Institute (H.I.)
  • Montepelier Foundation
  • Mulago Foundation
  • OAK Foundation
  • Quadrature Climate Foundation (QCF)
  • Walmart Foundation (USA)
  • Sequoia Climate Foundation
  • Skoll Foundation


  • Arapyaú Institute
  • AVINA Foundation
  • WRI Brasil
  • MapBiomas Support Institute (IAMap)

Technical Coordination: Marcos Rosa (ArcPlan)

Scientific Coordination: Julia Shimbo (IPAM)

General Coordination: Tasso Azevedo (Observatório do Clima)

Independent Committee of Scientific Advice:

Current members

  • Alexandre Camargo Coutinho (Embrapa)
  • Edson Eygi Sano (IBAMA)
  • Gerd Sparovek (Universidade de São Paulo)
  • Leila Maria Garcia Fonseca (INPE)
  • Liana Oighenstein Anderson (CEMADEN)
  • Marina Hirota (Universidade Federal de Santa Catarina)

Former members

  • Gilberto Camara Neto (INPE)
  • Joberto Veloso de Freitas (Universidade Federal do Amazonas)
  • Matthew C. Hansen (Universidade de Maryland)
  • Mercedes Bustamante (Universidade de Brasília)
  • Timothy Boucher (TNC)
  • Robert Gilmore Pontius Jr (Clark University)

Technical Partners:

  • Brasil I.O
  • Institute of Agricultural and Forest Management and Certification - Imaflora (IMAFLORA)
  • Energy and Environment Institute (IEMA)
  • Socioambiental Institute (ISA)
  • Life Center Institute (ICV)
  • Institute for Democracy and Sustainability (IDS)
  • The Nature Conservancy (TNC)
  • WWF Brasil

Click here to know the people who make MapBiomas.